Three researchers from the Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute, Richard Gilbertson, Greg Hannon and Jason Carroll are among nine Cambridge scientists who have been elected to the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2017.

Fellows are chosen in recognition of their “outstanding impact in the community, contributing to the development of better healthcare”.  The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 28 June 2017.

Professor Gilbertson said:  “I am deeply honoured to have received this recognition of our work and feel privileged to join such a wonderful organisation dedicated to promoting excellence in medical science, ultimately for the good of patients. This honour belongs to my many postdocs, PhD students, technicians and wonderful collaborators who over the years who have worked with me to pursue fantastic science. The cadre of scientists elected from Cambridge also reflects the vibrant cancer research community in our city and the terrific support of the clinical school.”

Announcement in full here.